Free Consultation

618-235-3500

What Is the Minimum Requirement for Coverage of Personal Injury Damages Per Person in Illinois?

All people with vehicles registered in Illinois must have auto insurance, and their policy must include certain requirements under Illinois law. Not having enough insurance in the event of a crash can lead to legal trouble, along with possibly having to pay for someone’s injuries out-of-pocket.

The Belleville, Illinois, car accident attorneys at Cook, Bartholomew, Cook & Jones can help if you have questions about auto insurance or sustained injuries in a crash. We know all the ins and outs of Illinois auto insurance laws and have over 150 years of combined legal experience, including extensive experience with underinsured/uninsured motorist cases. Following is everything you need to know about the minimum auto insurance requirements in Illinois, including the requirements for personal injury damages.

Illinois Auto Insurance Requirements

According to the Illinois Secretary of State, all auto insurance policies issued in the state must include the following minimum coverage amounts:

  • $25,000 in liability coverage for one injury or death in a collision
  • $50,000 in liability coverage for multiple injuries or deaths in a single collision
  • $20,000 in property damage coverage

Furthermore, all Illinois auto insurance policies automatically include coverage for accidents involving uninsured or underinsured motorists. If you drive in Illinois without auto insurance and the police catch you, you could face legal repercussions. These repercussions may include the suspension of your vehicle’s registration, fines, and insurance premium surcharges.

Can You Purchase Additional Insurance Beyond the Required Minimums?

If your auto policy meets the mandatory minimums, you can purchase additional coverage if your insurance company offers it. It’s a smart idea to purchase additional coverage if you can afford it, as greater coverage offers more protection and financial security if a crash occurs. Some add-ons you might want for your Illinois auto insurance policy include:

  • Collision Coverage: This insurance helps pay for repairs if your car sustains damage in a collision with another vehicle or object, regardless of who caused the collision.
  • Comprehensive Coverage: This option covers damage to your car from non-collision events like theft, vandalism, natural disasters, and hitting an animal.
  • Uninsured Motorist Property Damage (UMPD): While Illinois requires uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage, UMPD is optional and covers damage to your vehicle by an uninsured driver.
  • Medical Payments Coverage: This helps cover medical or funeral expenses for you and your passengers after an accident, regardless of fault.
  • Roadside Assistance: Offers services like towing, flat tire changes, battery jump-starts, and locksmith services.
  • Rental Reimbursement: This coverage helps pay for a rental car if your vehicle is in the shop for repairs after a covered insurance claim.

What Happens in an Accident with an Uninsured Driver?

If you sustain injuries in a crash with an uninsured driver, you can file a personal injury lawsuit against them to seek compensation for your losses. However, someone who does not have auto insurance likely does not have many assets available to cover your losses. In these situations, your best option is to file an uninsured motorist claim with your insurance company. An Illinois auto accident attorney can explain your legal options in these situations.

Contact an Illinois Auto Accident Attorney Now

If you have questions about Illinois’ auto insurance requirements or what to do after a crash, our car accident lawyers are here to help. Call Cook, Bartholomew, Cook & Jones today at (618) 235-3500 or complete our contact form for a free consultation.